This special privacy feature is only available to Facebook executives

One thing about Facebook is it’s very difficult to get rid of things once they are on the social network. Even if you delete your profile, it is only hidden for several days in case you change your mind, and even after that your data remains on Facebook’s servers for up to three months. In the past, Facebook has even kept status updates that users typed into the post box but never actually posted.

Until recently, however, if you happened to be a senior executive at the company, you had access to a special feature—one that allowed you to not only automatically delete your past instant messages, but to also remove them from the inboxes of anyone who received them. And for many, that seems like a double standard when it comes to who gets to delete their personal behavior on the site and when.

TechCrunch first reported on this phenomenon on Thursday, April 5, with a story that described how several people who got access to their message history through Facebook’s “Download Your Information” tool noticed that their messages to CEO Mark Zuckerberg were in the archive, but his replies had disappeared—and not just recent ones, but replies going all the way back to 2010. According to TechCrunch, when asked about the deletion, a Facebook spokesperson gave the following explanation:

After Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives’ communications. These included limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations.

The company apparently never told the users who had these discussions that those messages would be removed from their inboxes, however. And while Facebook introduced a feature in 2016 that allows users of a special encrypted version of Messenger to set a timer and have their instant messages auto-deleted after a certain period, they can’t remove those messages from the inboxes of the people who received them, and that feature also doesn’t remove messages dating back as far as 2010.

After questioning from TechCrunch and a number of other outlets about the feature, Facebook said that it would stop allowing executives to delete messages from other people’s inboxes while it works on the roll-out of a similar deletion feature for all users. A spokesman told BuzzFeed:

People using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer and have their messages automatically deleted. We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.

While it might be a small feature that was designed to limit the potential liability of Facebook executives if their messages were hacked somehow, for many it seems like a case of Facebook allowing its senior staff to do something that normal users aren’t allowed to do. And it seems especially egregious that they did this to give Zuckerberg and others the power to remove personal information, while at the same time distributing massive quantities of personal data to entities like Cambridge Analytica.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s